A Gift for the Deluded Living Beings

A Compilation of Golden Words on Amitabha Recitation, composed by Great Master Yi Bian (Ippen), Venerable Dharma Master Shi Hui Jing translated into Mandarin from Japanese.

28. The pretension of leaving the world is to be despised.

It is uncertain if one will obtain the clothes.

I wear the unwanted worn clothes.

More important it is not to trouble others.

29. In winter, in summer, I put on the thin clothes.

When it rains, I wear the rain coat.

The only aim is to protect myself from the cold.

Whatever I have I will just put on.

30 Eating the food is aimed to survive.

I can look for it in my surrounding.

I am not sad for the death of this body.

I do not bother even if I were to fall sick.

31 I am not sad if my body is weak.

I am not worried about my strength either.

As I am not bothered by this form body,

I am not attached to delicious food.

32 Good karma and evil karma are the karma of transmigration,

The karma of birth and death.

For the triple realms, the six paths,

I have no admiration for them.

33 I take refuge in Amitabha Buddha,

I recite Namo Amitabha Buddha.

I will receive the illumination of the Buddha.

This is genuinely serving the Buddha.

34 The two Sages are my supreme friends.

I do not seek to have mundane friends.

All the Buddha often bestow upon me the care and protection.

I will be free from all disaster and difficulties.

35 Once I understand this principle,

I know I have obtained the Buddha’s special virtues of kindness.

When I think of this, I become so happy.

And I will just keep on reciting the Name of Amitabha Buddha.

36 For the sake of all living beings,

I roam afar to learn from good knowing advisers but to no avail.

One year I came to XiongYe

And pray to the Buddha at the Hall of Sincere Certification to guide me.

37 In the early morning I obtain a response in my dream.

In this life, I will let go of everything.

In future I will see no other refuge

Except this recitation of the Buddha’s Name

Which benefits all living beings equally.

38 This body is impure, fragile and weak.

It breaks down easily and finally it will return to the earth.

Those who believe in me are not benefitted

And those who slander me are not committing an offence.

39 The Name which is recited

Is replete with inconceivable merits and virtues.

Those who see and hear the Name will be awakened.

They will wake up from the dream of birth and death.

40 Those who have faith, those who slander will be benefitted.

This is because of the reliance on the strength of the Buddha,

His Name which is inconceivable. 

From the time of no beginning the innate body exists originally.

Do not say you have just started to cultivate now.

41 The Buddha Nature is originally the One Thus.

There is no difference for being enlightened or deluded.

With the sudden arises of a false thought. we are misled,

Thinking there is an enlightenment, there is the delusion.

42 The Original Vows of Amitabha Buddha are

A gift for the deluded living beings,

For those who are blunt in root, those who are unwise.

He does not aim at the wise ones, or those with eloquence.

43 He does not differentiate if one cultivates giving and abides by the precepts,

Or if one transgresses the precepts.

He gathers in and protects those who enter the door of concentration,

And also the door of mixed practices, equally.

There is no hindrance in saving

While he dwells in the four awesome deportments.

44. The good and bad men are not differentiated.

He will not abandon those who have committed the bad karma.

Those with mixed practices cannot attain a rebirth.

The good roots are inconceivable.

45. Do not bother to decorate this body.

Do not decorate oneself for others to see.

This mind does not calculate nor think.

An enlightened mind is free from all false thoughts, ultimately.

46. The Name of the Immeasurable Lifespan Buddha

Far-surpasses the lights of all other Buddha.

It is because this Name is neither the Dharma of awakening or the Dharma of confusion.

That is why he is praised as the Buddha of Inconceivable Lights.

47. When you have faith in this dharma… … …

The Buddha and Living beings are not apart from one another.

In the three karma they are never apart from one other.

That is why he is known as the Unobstructed Lights Buddha

48. All the thoughts cease to exist

As this body relies solely on the Buddha.

Inhaling and exhaling

one still continues to recite Namo Amitabha Buddha.

A GIFT FOR THE DELUDED LIVING BEINGS

A Compilation of Golden Words on Buddha Recitation, composed by Great Master Yi Bian (Ippen), Venerable Dharma Master Shi Hui Jing translated into Mandarin from Japanese

念佛金言录 一遍上人诗偈

釋慧净上人 中译

28 不喜假出世 衣亦无常定 任人之所著 以不烦为主

29 冬夏衣纸衣 下雨着莛蓑 但为御寒故 任有而缠身

30 支命之食物 随附近之缘 此身不叹死 亦不为病嫌

31 此身不悲弱 亦不为力忧 不为色身故 不嗜味珍馐

32 善与恶皆是 轮回生死业 三界六道中 更无所羡慕

33 归命阿弥陀 称念弥陀佛 蒙摄取光照 是名真奉事

34 二圣为胜友 不求凡夫朋 诸佛常护念 无一切横难

35 能知如是理 偏蒙佛恩德 一想便欢喜 愈称弥陀名

36 为一切众生 巡求无其益 一年诣熊野 祈祷证诚殿

37 晓更得灵梦 任彼过此身 后生无依怙 唯此平等益

38 但不净脆弱 身终舍于土 信我者无益 谤我亦无罪

39 口所称名号 不思议功德 见闻觉知人 皆醒生死梦

40 信谤皆共有利益 他力不思议名号 无始本有之行体 莫谓现在开始修

41 佛性本一如 无迷悟差别 忽然妄念起 误认有迷悟

42 然弥陀本誓 布施迷众生 为钝根无智 非智慧辩才

43 不简施与戒 亦不简破戒 定散共摄护 四威仪无碍

44 善恶皆不隔 不舍恶业人 杂善皆不生 善根不思量

45 不修饰身仪 亦不饰人目 心不凭计度 悟心彻底绝

46 无量寿佛之名号 诸佛光明所不及 非迷非悟之法故 称赞为难思光佛

47 信乐此法时… … … 生佛皆不隔 彼此三业不舍离 是故名无碍光佛

48 止一切思量 此身仰凭佛 出入息皆念 南无阿弥陀佛