Bringing forth the Vows in Amitabha Recitation by Ippen-Shonin (1234-1289)

Bringing forth the Vows

Composed by Ippen-Shonin (1234-1289)

Translated from Japanese into Mandarin by Venerable Master Shi Hui Jing.

I, the disciple vow that from this life onwards until the unending future time,

I will enter the Original Vows of the Buddha without a care for my body and life.

Throughout this lifespan, I will recite the Name of Namo Amitabha Buddha exclusively.

I will not speak about the good and evil of others,

And I will not think about being good or evil.

For such a cultivator who relies only on the Original Vows,

Amitabha Buddha, Avalokitesvara Bodhisattva and Mahasthamaprapta Bodhisattva,

The 25 bodhisattvas, the innumerable sagely assemblies, the Buddhas equivalent to the Ganges Sands in the six directions,

Who are the certifiers of sincerity will not even leave him for a while. 

Just like a shadow that follows the form body, it will not renounce him temporarily.

They will follow him throughout the six periods of time

In the day and at night, continually, without interruption.

They will bestow upon him their protection

And are mindful of him with kindness and compassion.

In this way his mind will not fall into confusion.

He will not encounter sudden illness nor will he face sudden death.

His body is free from pain and sufferings and his mind is not confused.

His body and mind will be calm and blissful, just as if he is dwelling in Dhyana.

He will pass away just in an instant

When the sagely assemblies come forth to welcome him.

By relying on the Buddha’s Vows and Strength,

He will attain a rebirth in the World of Ultimate Bliss.

At that time the multitude in the assembly bring forth these exhortations:

I will exclusively cultivate the recitation of Amitabha Buddha’s Name

And I will not be involved in mixed practices.

I will only have faith in the Dharma which has affinity with me

And I will not slander nor destroy others’ Dharma.

I will only bring forth exclusively a mind of Equality

And I will put a stop to the false thinking of differentiation.

I will bring forth the mind of kindness and compassion exclusively

And I will not forget others’ sorrow.

I will show only the face of soft and genteel

And I will not reveal a face of anger.

I will especially dwell in a low and humble disposition

And I will not dwell in a mind of arrogance.

I will especially contemplate the source of impurity

And I will not give rise to a mind of loving attachment.

I will specially contemplate the principle of impermanence

And I will not dwell in a mind of greedy desires.

I will only look at my own faults and I will not speak ill of others.

I will especially roam to other places to teach and transform others.

I will not be heedless in self beneficial conduct.

I will especially be frightened of the three evil paths

And I will not be indulged in committing the sinful karmas.

I will exclusively wish for a rebirth in the Land of Serenely Blissful

And I dare not forget the sufferings in the three evil paths.

I will exclusively dwell on the thoughts to attain a rebirth.

I will not be lazy in the practice of Amitabha recitation.

I will single-mindedly be mindful of the Western Land

And I will not divide my mind into the other nine realms.

I will exclusively practise the Bodhi Conduct

And will not mix it up with playful friends.

I will abide by the teaching of the Good Knowing Adviser

And I will not act as what I have desired.

An extract from the Golden Words of Amitabha recitation by Ippen Shonin

誓愿偈文 一遍上人 作

释慧净法师 译

誓愿偈文

我弟子等

愿从 今身 尽未来际 不惜身命 归入本愿

毕命为期 一向称名 不说善恶 不思善恶

如此行人 依本愿故 阿弥陀佛 观音势至

五五菩萨 无数圣众 六方恒沙 证诚诸佛

昼夜六时 相续无间 如影随形 无暂舍离

慈悲护念 令心不乱 不受横病 不遇横死

身无痛苦 心不错乱 身心安乐 如入禅定

命断须臾 圣众来迎 乘佛愿力 往生极乐

时众制诫

专修称名行 莫勤于杂行 专信所爱法 莫破他人法

专起平等心 莫作差别思 专发慈悲心 莫忘他人愁

专备柔和面 莫现瞋恚相 专住卑下观 莫发憍慢心

专观不净源 莫起爱执心 专观无常理 莫发贪欲心

专制自身过 莫谤他人非 专游化他门 莫怠自利行

专恐三恶道 莫恣犯罪业 专愿安养乐 莫忘三途苦

专住往生想 莫怠称名行 专持念西方 莫分心九域

专修菩提行 莫交游戏友 专守知识教 莫恣任我意

(念佛金言录 一遍上人诗偈- 摘录)

南无阿弥陀佛

NAMO AMITABHA BUDDHA

Author: oridharma

Charitable | Dharma Protector | Compassion

Leave a comment