The Body resembles the dews, the Mind is the flower petals!

Reciting the Dharma words for her and she attains a rebirth immediately

On the day when I was teaching the Dharma at Fenchuan family, I went to visit the Grandmother of my niece at Kyoto.

Grandmother was very ill.

At night about nine pm I went up the second floor and saw about twenty relatives from Kii Province had gathered there to pay her a visit.

Three of us, myself, my niece’s husband, Dr. Shuikou Banji together with the doctor stood around the bed of the patient.

Dr. Shuikou said to me, ‘She is departing soon. Do speak the Dharma for her.’

So, I repeated the verses of praise by Great Master Honen Shonin two times to pass on to her the wonderful dharma of liberation from the suffering seas of birth and death.

After that the patient immediately put her palms together, facing the west and recited Namo Amitabha Buddha a few times before passing away.

The verses are as follows:

The body resembles the dews which dispersed everywhere. The Mind resembles the flower petals which are joined to the calyx.

-By Great Master Honen Shonin

The wooden door is surrounded by the white cloud day and night. When will they become the purple lights? -By Great Master Honen Shonin

Whenever I see the blooming of the flowers, I wish so much to be born in the Land of Ultimate Bliss earlier. Great Master Rennyo

A translation by Dharma Master Fo Ke from the Book: Sayings from the Mother Buddha Vihara

为念法语 当下往生

在粉川氏的家里说法的那一日,因京都侄女的婆婆大病而去探望。

晚上九点,上去二楼一看,从纪州来探病的人、亲戚总共二十位。

我与侄女婿水口半吉博士及医生共三人,守候在病床边。

水口氏拜托我说:「临终在即,请您讲法吧。」

我念了两次法然上人的几首偈颂,作为传授度脱生死苦海的妙法。很快地,病人就向西合掌,称念数声「南无阿弥陀佛」之後,就往生了。偈颂如下:

身似露珠四处散,心如花瓣萼上连。──法然上人

白云日夜拥柴扉,何时成为紫色光?──法然上人

每次见到花开时,更盼早生极乐国。──莲如上人

(佛可法师译自《佛母庵物语》)

Author: oridharma

Charitable | Dharma Protector | Compassion

2 thoughts on “The Body resembles the dews, the Mind is the flower petals!”

Leave a comment