Amitabha Buddha is standing in the Sound of Namo Amitabha

I have been reciting the Buddha’s Name and the sutras in the morning and evening for the past ten years.

Not long ago, a gang boss was sentenced to a death penalty. He was shot to death.

At that time, I was thus thinking,

‘Whoever he might be, it will surely be a terrifying experience to be sent to the execution ground. But this man looked calm and steady, just as if he was not afraid at all.’

Many people are saying prayers, making all kinds of offerings for him. I felt very sad on seeing this.

Once I had seen him drawing the image of Avalokitesvara Bodhisattva. His drawing was very refined and accurate. It was a very good piece of art. That is why I feel that he must be very talented. But as he had taken a wrong step and ended up committing a great crime.

Silently I made a vow, ‘As I have the habit in reciting the Buddha’s name and Sutras daily, I can transfer my merits to him.’

Actually, I do not really know him. I only happened to see him on television. I was then thinking,

‘I transfer my merits to him in this manner. Will he receive the merits?’

I recited for him until the third day and I had this dream.

In my dream I was reciting Namo Amitabha Buddha and the Sutra.

I saw him coming towards me. Standing on his two sides are two men in ancient clothes. (He is wearing the normal clothes.)

On seeing me he bowed down to me.

I was thinking, ’How can I accept your bowing! Please stand up quickly!’

But he said, ‘Miss Lv, I am not bowing to you. I am bowing to the Buddha you are reciting. Amitabha Buddha is standing in the recitation.’

He continued, ‘I am very grateful that you have recited the Sutras and Amitabha Buddha for me these few days.’

I asked him, ‘Do you mean my recitation can help you? I do not really know you, right? Can you receive the merits?’

He answered, ‘Yes. You are truly helping me! I have committed the offences in the human realm and I was sentenced to death with a gun shot.

Presently I am facing the second trial.

Luckily you recite the Sutras for me and this help to reduce my sinful karma.’

On hearing this I felt very relieved.

At that time, he suddenly asked me a question, ‘Miss Lv, aren’t you distributing wholesome books for free for people?’

I said yes. (I have often been carrying a basket of books on moral values to be distributed from house to house. Sometimes, I sent them to Monasteries.)

He said to me, ‘Maybe you should change a direction. Please send some to the prisons, the detention centres.’

When he saw that I was hesitating, he said, ’Miss Lv, do not feel it is a taboo by sending books to those places. We the offenders really need these books on morality. This is because we have committed lots of mistakes!’

So, I agreed that I will send the books.

This is the end of my dream.

Later I was quite busy and I forgot about this matter.

After two months again I sent somebooks on morality and Dharma teachings to a temple. And I brought back one good book which was donated by others.

After studying the content, I found that it was a good book and I phoned up the publisher.

He suggested to me, ‘This book should be sent to the prisons, the detention centres!’

These words reminded me of my dreams and my promise to the gang boss.

I realize that in this world there are many inconceivable happenings.

According to Buddhism, we are told that it is not the end of life when we pass away.

The effects of the causes we have planted would still be there, just as mentioned on the second trial.

As a man in this human form, we must really value our present existence to cultivate the Dharma.

-Written by Lv Mei Qin on the 1st of January, 1997

A comment by the Venerable Master:

Amitabha Buddha is standing in the sound of Namo Amitabha.

When living beings call out for Namo Amitabha Buddha,

He responds immediately.

They are total strangers but she cares to transfer the merits to him.

He also obtains the benefits.

The merits and virtues thus cultivated are not in vain.

For the sake of oneself, for the sake of others, we should recite Namo Amitabha Buddha sincerely.

In this life and the life after,

The benefits are unending.

An extract from the small booklet on the emitting of lights when the Buddha’s Name is recited

Author: oridharma

Charitable | Dharma Protector | Compassion

Leave a comment